Sixteen Teams Earn this Prestigious Honor

Indiana has some outstanding volleyball programs in the Hoosier state.  Now we can claim that we also have some outstanding student-athletes competing on the court and in the classroom.

The IHSVCA is an Affiliate Partner with the AVCA, they provide valuable resources for our newly formed association.   This includes coordinating the Team Academic Award.

The IHSVCA is proud to announce the 16 male and female high school programs that met the following criteria:

  1. Coach must be a current member of the AVCA and the IHSVCA.
  2. AVCA will evaluate each nomination based on the AVCA Team Academic Award criteria
  • Each varsity team must maintain the minimum cumulative team grade-point average during the entire 2017-18 academic year. The minimums are as follows; a 3.30 (on a 4.0 scale).
  • All athletes who competed in any dates of VARSITY competition during the traditional volleyball season must be included in the nomination.

List of our IHSVCA Team Academic Award winners:

Coaches will be recognized at the Fall Coaches Clinic, August 5th.

Girls’ Teams

Teams Coach
Batesville High School Mr. Jody A Thomas
Bishop Chatard High School Whitney Birch
Cathedral High School Dee Dee Galligher
Central Noble Jr/Sr High School Laura Scott
Clinton Prairie Jr/Sr High School Angie Schilling
East Central High School Cassie Laker
Greensburg High School June Rigney
Hamilton Southeastern High School Jason Andrew Young
Heritage Christian School Mrs. Michelle York
Lafayette Central Catholic Jr./Sr. High School Mr. Bradley McCarter
Mt. Vernon High School Eric Bulmahn
Northwestern High School Lorri Schuler
Oldenburg Academy Mr. Ned Rogers

Boys’ Teams

Bishop Chatard High School Dominic Jannazzo
Cathedral High School Rhonda Low
Roncalli High School John William Kesterson